Go Back   Golf Rewind > The Pro Shop > Club Making & Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 03:49 PM
cab5er cab5er is offline
Golf Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Freakmont, CA
Posts: 46
Are these Mizuno heads fakes?

Where are mizuno heads made? How come these are all coming from China. I want to bid but am a bit hesitant. Are these fake?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Mizuno-MP-60-Iro...QQcmdZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/DB-golfclub-Mizu...QQcmdZViewItem
Reply With Quote
REGISTER and browse with less advertisements! It's FREE!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 03:51 PM
NikeRep07's Avatar
NikeRep07 NikeRep07 is offline
N/A
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,432
Pretty sure they are...but ya never know....I would ask the seller for the serial # and then call mizzy and check
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 03:54 PM
mr3856a's Avatar
mr3856a mr3856a is offline
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Staatsburg, NY
Posts: 2,593
Send a message via AIM to mr3856a Send a message via Yahoo to mr3856a
I'd almost bet my life those are fake.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 04:25 PM
pick-it-up-its-good pick-it-up-its-good is offline
Tournament Winner
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 859
Location: GuangDong, China


STAY AWAY!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 05:13 PM
pgonza2723 pgonza2723 is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: ATX
Posts: 1,043
I'm always wary of a seller with a low amount of sales.....

Edit: and yes I would tend to believe those things are fake.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 05:25 PM
VJCouples's Avatar
VJCouples VJCouples is offline
Tournament Winner
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Monrovia, California
Posts: 554
I heard that a lot of the components for those big name brands are actually made in china due to the low production costs. I would er on the side of safety and call them fake, but if one were real, I would say that first one is real because of the use of paypal, although I it seems as if the klan is selling it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:09 PM
mr3856a's Avatar
mr3856a mr3856a is offline
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Staatsburg, NY
Posts: 2,593
Send a message via AIM to mr3856a Send a message via Yahoo to mr3856a
Quote:
Originally Posted by VJCouples
although I it seems as if the klan is selling it.
No kidding, right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:22 PM
drstroud's Avatar
drstroud drstroud is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,713
As fake as fake can be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 06:44 PM
mr_sooty's Avatar
mr_sooty mr_sooty is offline
Tournament Winner
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 723
Send a message via MSN to mr_sooty
Almost all the big companies have their components made in China, and I know that the factories often sell them 'out the back door'. So you can get original OEM heads through Chinese sellers, but often the shafts are fake. Most of these factories also make copies, so it's always hard to tell. Most of the Mizuno and Ping stuff I've come across is fake, (these two companies have only recently started having stuff made in China I believe), but there are alot of genuine Taylor Made, Callaway and Cleveland heads being sold out of Chinese factories. The factories aren't technically authorised to do this, but patent laws in China are practically non-existant from what I've heard, the country doesn't recognise international patents, so it's a free for all.

I have also found that while many of these Chinese companies are up front about which of their clubs are real and which are copies, others try to avoid the topic, and even lie. I got some samples from one company who assured me that all the components (shaft, head, grip) were genuine, but on recieving them found that the shafts were probably fake. Genuine heads though.

In short, although you can get some genuine components from chinese sellers, there are no guarantees, and it's probably best to go elsewhere. If it's Mizuno, Ping or Titleist, I'd almost guarantee it's fake. When I was looking into this (to see if it was a potential business opportunity, which I have since decided to steer well clear of) I found no Chinese companies selling genuine clubs from those three companies, only fakes. However seeing as how Mizuno and Ping are now having stuff made over there it's possible somebody is selling genuine heads out the back door.

In the end, you're better off paying a little extra and going to a reputable source.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 07:30 PM
NikeSlingshot06's Avatar
NikeSlingshot06 NikeSlingshot06 is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 1,458
faaaaaake as heck, the paint on the seconds is even messed up
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 10th, 2007, 10:49 PM
rc-combat's Avatar
rc-combat rc-combat is offline
Tournament Winner
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 585
The second ones seller even has bad feedback stating ones he has sold in the past are fake.
Reply With Quote
REGISTER and browse with less advertisements! It's FREE!
Reply
Tags: , , ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eBay fakes glock17 Golf Equipment 21 July 18th, 2006 10:23 AM
A heads up.... Butter Knife Guy General Golf Discussion 4 May 10th, 2006 07:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.