Go Back   Golf Rewind > The Clubhouse > General Golf Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 08:40 PM
mitchalo2 mitchalo2 is offline
Q-School
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sanford, NC
Posts: 239
Send a message via AIM to mitchalo2 Send a message via MSN to mitchalo2 Send a message via Yahoo to mitchalo2
Interesting Auction

Saw this on Ebay. Hmmmmmmmmm

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...&rd=1&tc=photo
Reply With Quote
REGISTER and browse with less advertisements! It's FREE!
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 23rd, 2005, 10:29 PM
uc8u's Avatar
uc8u uc8u is offline
Tour Card
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 353
assuming it is authentic, what would I do with a golf ball that says "to Mrs. Butler"?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 12:38 AM
girlgolfa's Avatar
girlgolfa girlgolfa is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by uc8u
assuming it is authentic, what would I do with a golf ball that says "to Mrs. Butler"?
$250 US for some ink on a old ball........ I might buy it for 10 cents and chuck it in my practice bag.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 01:08 AM
strongvardon's Avatar
strongvardon strongvardon is offline
Q-School
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: lansing,MI
Posts: 161
But signed by the great Haig himself. A priceless addition to any collection.........
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 11:21 AM
smittles14's Avatar
smittles14 smittles14 is offline
Tournament Winner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by strongvardon
But signed by the great Haig himself. A priceless addition to any collection.........
Yes, but i highly doubt that it is authentic.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 01:30 PM
deronsizemore's Avatar
deronsizemore deronsizemore is offline
Grand Slam
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2,802
You can't trust anyone especially on ebay. It might very well be authentic, but I still have a hard time believing it or paying that much for it. I wouldn't buy it unless I was just a millionaire and had more money then I knew what to do with.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 01:33 PM
Butter Knife Guy's Avatar
Butter Knife Guy Butter Knife Guy is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,620
Interesting looking dimples there. Other than that, i don't know what to think.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 01:44 PM
golf-a-holic golf-a-holic is offline
GR Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,005
Tough to tell if trying to write a signature on a golf ball would look like the eBay version, but here's his signature on paper...

http://www.golfspast.com/page/E/PROD/AWH/D877
http://www.golfspast.com/page/E/PROD/AWH/D1059

You decide...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 06:45 PM
Butter Knife Guy's Avatar
Butter Knife Guy Butter Knife Guy is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,620
Using the paper autographs as a "control" (forgive my Chem 11 terminology), I'd say that the W - l,t,e in Walter and the H, g, e in Hagen look significantly different - to the point of a forgery.

I'd have to say that this is the first time i've ever heard of something golf related where forged is a bad thing
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 06:48 PM
Butter Knife Guy's Avatar
Butter Knife Guy Butter Knife Guy is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,620
Besides, why would someone want to auction off a family heirloom signed by one of the greatest golfing figures of all time? I could understand auctioning off a ball signed by Don Massengale, but the Haig? Not a chance.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 07:59 PM
waylman's Avatar
waylman waylman is online now
Q-School
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 204
I have a tiger woods signed ball...how much will you guys give me!?!?!?!?

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 09:12 PM
cageydog cageydog is offline
Q-School
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 130
Well I checked with the Butler's and they said Tiger's sig is real and that the ball is priceless because it lacks dimples.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 09:23 PM
Butter Knife Guy's Avatar
Butter Knife Guy Butter Knife Guy is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by waylman
I have a tiger woods signed ball...how much will you guys give me!?!?!?!?

Now that the platinum is on the market, they must've made a new model for tiger, so he can be special again. This one replaced the swoosh with NIKE written on it in all caps. Sweet.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 24th, 2005, 10:30 PM
Halk's Avatar
Halk Halk is offline
Green Jacket
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North, Alabama USA
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by deronsizemore
You can't trust anyone especially on ebay. It might very well be authentic, but I still have a hard time believing it or paying that much for it. I wouldn't buy it unless I was just a millionaire and had more money then I knew what to do with.
Agree with you on buying something like this off eBay. Got a feeling if someone does buy they may regret the purchase then maybe not some people just have too much money and time what's the saying a fool and his money will soon be parted.
Reply With Quote
REGISTER and browse with less advertisements! It's FREE!
Reply
Tags: ,



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Course on auction block Halk General Golf Discussion 5 October 24th, 2006 03:22 PM
Just won an auction for the first time!! squibber Golf Equipment 1 June 14th, 2006 12:48 AM
Here's an interesting one.... VanHalen5150II General Golf Discussion 9 May 1st, 2006 03:28 PM
This is interesting mcgwire40 General Golf Discussion 2 March 6th, 2006 12:06 AM
Interesting Tip smittles14 Golf Tips 3 February 12th, 2005 04:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42 PM.